atomorfen interior blog

5 iconic chairs

In the world of design, as in the fashion world, there are icons of design, that don’t lose their popularity for many decades. We chose 5 chairs, which today are very common in interiors. The secret of their eternal popularity in thoughtful design, versatility and simplicity. Each of them feels great in homes, cafes, offices and other public places around the world. We’ll tell you who, when and why created them.

Eames Plastic Chair

This neat chair with a plastic base and wooden legs can often be found in minimalistic Scandinavian interiors. It was coined in the distant 1950 by renowned American designers, the spouses Charles and Ray Eames. They very wanted to create a chair with a seat from a single piece of material, in which it would be convenient to sit in any position. A chair that would be universal and accessible to everyone, and would harmoniously fit both into the living room, into the museum or office. They were in search of the embodiment of their idea for about 6 years, experimented with the molding of plywood, and searched for other suitable materials.

With the advent of fiberglass in the industry, their idea became possible and the chair came into being. Approximately in 1988, Ray abolished production. It turned out that the fiberglass was destroying the ecology, and the designer’s duty is not only to create useful objects, but also not to forget about the environment. Only recently, in 2014, was developed eco-friendly fiberglass, which is 98% recyclable. Today, the official manufacturers of Eames chair are only two: Vitra in Europe and Herman Miller in the US. Only the price hardly speaks about availability. Fans of these chairs are so many that there are a lot of affordable and cheap replicas, so-called ‘stylized by Eames’. And everyone decides what is more important for him – ecology or accessibility.

Eames Plastic Chair

Eames Plastic Chair

Eames Plastic Chair

Louse Ghost Chair

Transparent as a ghost, this chair in 2000 year instantly won the heart and soul of the whole world. For all the time, more than 1500000 copies have been released. Its author is the star of design Philippe Starck. He invented it for the Milan-based company Kartell for which this chair is now a visiting card. Philippe Starck ironically played a trick on the classic 18th century armchair in the style of Louis 15, turning it into a “ghost” and, thus, giving it a new life. The original copy is produced from polycarbonate and can withstand up to 130 kg (286.5 lbs). These chairs are stacked up to 6 times.There is a version without armrests – Victoria Ghost, and there are also stools and a mini version for children.

All the chairs Ghost are produced in different colors. But the most popular and universal remains a crystal-transparent version. It looks great in any interior. It can be found even in the Medici Riccardi Palace in Florence, among the luxury of baroque.

Louse Ghost Chair

Louse Ghost Chair

Louse Ghost Chair

CH24 | Wishbone Chair

This elegant wooden chair is truly a masterpiece of Danish design. It was invented by designer Hans J. Wegner for the company Carl Hansen & Son, in 1950. The designer was inspired by portraits of Danish merchants sitting on Chinese chairs of the Ming era.

In appearance, a simple, high-quality, comfortable and stylish chair. But it is made completely manually from different kinds of a multi-year high-quality wood and has more than one hundred processing steps. The final stage is the manual weaving of the seat from paper twine natural, white, or black color. Hans J. Wegner was the first who started using this material in furniture, appreciating it for naturalness, durability, special strength and biodegradability. These chairs look good in minimalistic or organic interiors.

Wishbone Chair

Wishbone Chair

Wishbone Chair

Tolix A Chair

This unusual and unpredictable, in the choice of material, chair was created by the Frenchman Xavier Pauchard after the First World War. Not everyone finds him attractive, but he deservedly enters the collection of museums of MoMA, Pompidou and Vitra Design Museum as a recognized masterpiece of design.

At the family factory for the manufacture of metal products, Xavier Pauchard, in search of the durability of the material, invented a way of galvanizing. Thanks to this method, in 1927 was appeared the brand TOLIX, which the first dared in France, despite the popularity of wood, to produce furniture made of galvanized steel.
At that time, these chairs could be found in pubs and bars. But at the request of the owners of these bars, Xavier Pauchard had to improve the model so that the chairs could easily be stacked.

The TOLIX chairs, because of their versatility, quickly began to gain popularity, especially after they appeared on the ocean liner “SS Normandie” in 1935 and at the design exhibition in Paris. By the end of the 50s, about 60,000 copies were produced annually.

These chairs are made mainly by hand from sheet metal. Initially, this model was of two types – bare steel and red enamel. To date, they can be found in any color and in the form of bar stools, stools, as well as a children’s version for the smallest. These chairs can safely be located inside the premises, and in the courtyard or in the park. And they are not afraid of corrosion, or other environmental effects. Especially well Tolix chairs look in the loft and industrial apartments.

Tolix A Chair

Tolix A Chair

Tolix A Chair

Series 7 Chair

The author of this elegant model is the famous Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, who created it in 1955. The works of Eames, about which I told at the beginning, served as inspiration for him.
While working on this project Arne Jacobsen relied on an important question: “What kind of chair do people need?”.
And since in Scandinavia the kitchens are small, he came to the conclusion that people need an inexpensive and easy highchair.

The monolithic elegant seat is made of molded plywood and solid veneer, the pattern of which is carefully selected for each specimen. In addition to the office chair, there are others: office chairs on wheels and chairs for a bar. The secret of the success of this model is in simplicity, harmony of proportions, ergonomics and lightness. For many decades, this chair is the best seller of the company Fritz Hansen. More than 5 million copies have been sold since the creation of this chair.

Series 7 Chair

Series 7 Chair

Series 7 Chair

Source:
1. Eames Shop
2. Kartell
3. Carl Hansen & Sоn
4. Tolix
5. Fritz Hansen

You might also like:

Leave a Reply

Eva and Alex.
Renovating our first apartment. Draw illustrations. Raising a boy.
Welcome to our blog!
up

atomorfen interior blog

5 культовых стульев

В мире дизайна, как и в мире моды, есть иконы дизайна, которые не теряют своей популярности на протяжении многих десятилетий. Мы выбрали 5 стульев, которые сегодня очень часто встречаются в интерьерах. Секрет их вечной популярности в продуманном дизайне, универсальности и простоте. Каждый из них отлично себя чувствует в жилых домах, в кафе, офисах и других общественных заведениях по всему миру. Мы расскажем, кто, когда и зачем их создал.

Eames Plastic Chair

Этот аккуратный стульчик с пластиковым основанием и деревянными ножками часто можно встретить в минималистичных скандинавских интерьерах. Он был придуман еще в далеком 1950-м году супругами Чарльзом и Рэй Имз, известными американскими дизайнерами. Они очень хотели создать стул с сидением из единой формы, в котором было бы удобно сидеть в любом положении. Стул, который был бы доступным и универсальным, и который гармонично бы вписывался как в гостиную, так и в музей или офис. Они были в поисках воплощения своей идеи около 6 лет, экспериментировали с формованием фанеры и искали другие подходящие материалы.

С появлением в промышленности стеклопластика, их задумка стала возможной и стул появился на свет. Но примерно в 1988 году Рэй отменила производство. Этот материал разрушал экологию, а долг дизайнера не только создавать полезные объекты, но и не забывать об окружающей среде. И только совсем недавно в 2014 году был разработан экологичный стеклопластик, на 98 % вторично перерабатываемый. Сегодня официальных производителей стула Eames всего два: Vitra в Европе и Herman Miller в США. Только цена совсем не говорит о доступности. Поклонников этих стульев так много, что есть масса доступных и дешёвых реплик, так называемые стилизованные под Eames стулья. И каждый решает сам, что для него важнее, экология или доступность.

Eames Plastic Chair

Eames Plastic Chair

Eames Plastic Chair

Louse Ghost Chair

Прозрачный как призрак, этот стул в 2000-м году моментально завоевал сердце всего мира. С тех пор было выпущено более 1,5 млн экземпляров. Его автор — звезда дизайна Филипп Старк, который придумал его для миланской компании Kartell, для которой стул теперь является бестселлером и визитной карточкой. Старк вложил сюда иронию, подшутив над классическим креслом 18 века в стиле Людовика XV, превратив его в «призрак» и, таким образом, дав ему новую жизнь. Подлинный экземпляр выпускается из поликарбоната и выдерживает до 130 кг. Эти стулья штабелируются до 6-ти раз. Существует, также, версия без подлокотников — Victoria Ghost, а ещё табуреты и мини-версия для детей.

Все стулья Ghost производятся в разных расцветках. Но самым популярным и универсальным остаётся кристально-прозрачный вариант. Он отлично смотрится в любом интерьере, и его можно встретить даже во дворце Медичи-Риккарди во Флоренции, среди роскоши барокко.

Louse Ghost Chair

Louse Ghost Chair

Louse Ghost Chair

CH24 | Wishbone Chair

Этот изящный деревянный стул поистине является шедевром датского дизайна. Его придумал дизайнер Ханс Вегнер для компании Carl Hansen & Sоn, в 1950 году. Дизайнер тогда вдохновлялся портретами датских торговцев, сидящих на китайских стульях эпохи Мин.

С виду простой, качественный, комфортный и стильный стул. Но изготавливается он полностью в ручную из различных пород многолетней качественной древесины, такой как бук, дуб, вишня, орех, добывающейся в основном из датских лесов, и имеет более 100 этапов обработки и более 150 вариантов расцветки. Особенным и завершающим этапом является ручное плетение сидения из бумажного шпагата натурального, белого, или черного цвета. Ханс Вегнер первым начал использовать этот материал в мебели, ценя его за натуральность и биоразлагаемость, долговечность и особую прочность. Эти стулья хорошо смотрятся в минималистичных или органических интерьерах.

Wishbone Chair

Wishbone Chair

Wishbone Chair

Tolix A Chair

Этот необычный и непредсказуемый, в выборе материала, стул, был создан французом Ксавье Пошаром после Первой Мировой. Далеко не каждый находит его привлекательным, но он заслуженно входит в коллекцию музеев МоМА, Помпиду и Vitra Design Museum как признанный шедевр дизайна.

На семейной фабрике по изготовлению изделий из металла Ксавье Пошар, в поисках долговечности материала, изобрёл способ гальванизации цинком. Благодаря этому способу в 1927 году появилась марка Tolix, которая осмелилась первой во Франции, вопреки популярности дереву, выпускать мебель из оцинкованной стали.

Эти стулья можно было встретить в многочисленных пивоварнях и закусочных, но по просьбе владельцев этих заведений Ксавье Пошару пришлось усовершенствовать модель, чтобы они могли легко складываться друг на друга. Стулья Tolix из-за своей универсальности быстро начали набирать популярность, особенно после того, как они появились на пароходе «Нормандия» в 1935 году и на дизайнерской выставке в Париже. К концу 50-х ежегодно выпускалось уже около 60 000 экземпляров.

Стулья Tolix изготавливаются преимущественно вручную из листового металла и окрашиваются в самые разные яркие цвета. Старые раритетные модели в классическом виде — стальные, либо яркого красного цвета. Существует ещё детская версия, барные стулья и табуреты. Они спокойно могут находиться как внутри помещения, так во дворе или парке, и им не страшны ни коррозия, ни другие воздействия окружающей среды. Особенно хорошо стулья Tolix смотрятся в лофтовых и индустриальных апартаментах.

Tolix A Chair

Tolix A Chair

Tolix A Chair

Series 7 Chair

Автором этой изящной модели является известнейший датский архитектор Арне Якобсен, который создал её в 1955 году. Вдохновением послужили работы Имзов, о которых мы рассказывали чуть выше. Во время работы над стулом Якобсен опирался на важный вопрос: «Какой стул людям нужен?» Таким образом он обнаружил, что людям нужен недорогой и лёгкий стульчик для небольших кухонь. Он постарался, чтобы стул легко штабелировался для экономии места.

Его монолитное изящное сиденье изготовлено из формованной фанеры и цельного шпона, рисунок которого тщательно подбирается к каждому экземпляру. Есть вариант офисного стула на колёсиках и стул для бара. Секрет успеха этой модели в простоте, гармоничности пропорций, эргономичности и легкости. Много десятилетий этот стул является бестселлером компании Fritz Hansen. А с момента создания было продано более 5 миллионов экземпляров.

Series 7 Chair

Series 7 Chair

Series 7 Chair

Источники:
1. Eames Shop
2. Kartell
3. Carl Hansen & Sоn
4. Tolix
5. Fritz Hansen

Читайте также:

Добавить комментарий

Ева и Александр.
Делаем ремонт в своей первой квартире. Рисуем иллюстрации. Растим сынишку.
Добро пожаловать в наш блог!
up